THE BRIDGES OF
MADISON COUNTY

August 1 - 18
Based on the novel by Robert James Waller
Book by Marsha Norman
Music and Lyrics by Jason Robert Brown
Directed by Bartlett Sher

WORLD PREMIERE

The best-selling novel captivated millions of readers with the story of a beautiful Italian woman who marries an American soldier to flee war-ravaged Italy. Her new life on an Iowa farm is uncomplicated until the day a National Geographic photographer comes up her driveway looking for directions, forever changing the course of their lives.  Developed by an extraordinary, award-winning creative team, this passionate new musical captures the lyrical expanse of America’s heartland along with the deep yearning entangled in the eternal question, “What if...?”

Sponsored by James and Virginia Giddens

Cast

John Paul Almon
Jennifer Allen
Nick Bailey
Whitney Bashor
Daniel Jenkins
Caitlin Kinnunen
Michael X. Martin
Cass Morgan
Steven Pasquale
Elena Shaddow
Laura Shoop
Tim Wright


SCHEDULE
Thu | August 1 | 7:30 PM [Preview]
Fri | August 2 | 8:00 PM [Family]
Sat | August 3 | 3:30 PM
Sat | August 3 | 8:00 PM [Opening Night]
Sun | August 4 | 2:00 PM
Tue | August 6 | 7:30 PM [Talkback]
Wed | August 7 | 7:30 PM
Thu | August 8 | 2:00 PM
Thu | August 8 | 7:30 PM
Fri | August 9 | 8:00 PM [Family]
Sat | August 10 | 3:30 PM
Sat | August 10 | 8:00 PM
Sun | August 11 | 2:00 PM
Tue | August 13 | 7:30 PM [Talkback]
Wed | August 14 | 7:30 PM
Thu | August 15 | 2:00 PM
Thu | August 15 | 7:30 PM
Fri | August 16 | 8:00 PM [Family]
Sat | August 17 | 3:30 PM
Sat | August 17 | 8:00 PM
Sun | August 18 | 2:00 PM

 

 

Cast

Scene Design | Michael Yeargan
Costume Design | Catherine Zuber
Lighting Design | Donald Holder
Sound Design | Jon Weston
Musical Director | Thomas Murray

 

Press and Media

"Impressively theatrical... something quite rare and quite special...
a remarkably sophisticated, complex, full-bodied score." 
BERKSHIRE EAGLE

"If you are a lover of fine theatrical craft, a great new score and

can get your hands on a ticket, I would strongly urge you to do

so." 

DAILY GAZETTE 

 

"Expertely crafted production...both sweeping and intimate"

"Dramatic sets, gorgeous voices...will have fans swooning"

ALBANY TIMES UNION

 

"A lush, lovely, and immensely moving musical...Try to resist but

you'll fall in love with it, too."

HARTFORD COURANT

 

"A superiour production...gorgeous score...the music soars and 

the music is tender and touching"

TROY RECORD

 

“[Jason Robert] Brown’s score overflows with rich, glorious melody

that begs to be heard again, and again...“impeccably directed by

Bartlett Sher...a wonderful evening”

IN THE SPOTLIGHT

 

"A sure winner...there is a glow about this production"

WAMC 

 

CLICK HERE FOR MOBILE VIDEO